ENTER2016 eTourism Conference took place in Bilbao – Spain on February 2-5, 2016.

ENTER conference offered a worldwide and unique forum for attendees from industry, academia, government, and other organizations to actively exchange, share, and challenge state-of-the-art research and industrial case studies on the application of information and communication technologies to travel and tourism.

While ENTER2016 theme was eTourism: Empowering Places”, the following topics were discussed during the conference:

  • E-Marketing and Social Media Strategies
  • Big Data, Measurement and Analytics
  • Mobile Services and Wearable Technologies
  • Gaming, Gamification and Augmented Reality
  • Location-based Services and Context-Aware Systems
  • Internet-of-Things and Smart Destinations
  • Advanced Distribution Systems and Strategies
  • Travel Information Search and Retrieval
  • Social Networking, Social Media and Social Inspiration
  • ICT and Tourism Experience
  • ICT Adoption, Use, and Value Creation
  • E-strategy and e-Business models
  • ICT-enabled Partnership and Collaboration
  • ICT for Innovation and Service Design
  • E-Learning, life-long learning and MOOCs
  • ICT for Regional Development and Sustainability
  • Website Design and Evaluation
  • Legal and Social Aspects of ICT
  • E-Government and public policy in tourism
  • Digital Divide and Socio economic development
  • Privacy and Internet Security

ENTER2016 Conference Chairs:
Overall Chair:
Aurkene Alzua, CICtourGUNE Cooperative Research Center in Tourism, Spain

Research Track Chairs:
Alessandro Inversini, Bournemouth University, UK
Roland Schegg, HES-SO Valais-Wallis, Switzerland

Industry Track Chairs:
Vitor Pereira, Conteúdo Chave, Portugal
Jamie Murphy, Australian School of Management, Australia

Destination Track Chairs:
Stefanie Gallob, European Travel Commission, Belgium
Nagore Espinosa, CICtourGUNE Cooperative Research Center in Tourism, Spain

Basque Day Chairs:
Arantza Madariaga, Basquetour, Spain
Mercedes Rodriguez, Bilbao Tourism Board, Spain
Marina Abad, Deusto University, Spain

PhD Workshop Chairs:
Brigitte Stangl, University of Surrey, UK
Sofia Reino, University of Bedfordshire, UK
Dan Wang, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong
Yoyo Yuan, Jinwen University of Science and Technology, Taiwan

IFITT President: Lorenzo Cantoni, Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland
IFITT General Secretary: Nadzeya Kalbaska, Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland
IFITT Junior Communication Officer: Emanuele Mele, Università della Svizzera italiana, Switzerland