IFITT Awards 2021

Each year, IFITT proudly awards innovative technology-savvy organizations, working in the eTourism field, as well as outstanding research contributions. This year IFITT Awards were presented to the winners during ENTER21 (https://www.enter-conference.org) online eTourism conference.


IFITT Hannes Werthner Tourism and Technology Lifetime Achievement Award

  • The Hannes Werthner Tourism and Technology Lifetime Achievement Award is given to an individual from academia, industry or government, who has made significant contributions to the advancement of the field/practice of tourism and technology.
  • The winner of 2021 award is Professor Francesco Ricci, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano.


ENTER Conference Best Full Paper Award 2021


ENTER Conference Best Short Paper Award 2021


ENTER Conference Best PhD Proposal Award 2021

  • 1stPlace – Jia-Li Chang & Hui Li: “Personalized travel recommendation for group of users: A hybrid method with sentiment analysis and group consensus”.
  • 2ndPlace – Yingying Du & Hanqin Qiu: “Reduce stress and contribute to the wellbeing: Measuring Tourist’s Emotional Experiences toward Virtual Reality”.
  • 3rdPlace – Rafael Almeida de Oliveira, Renata Maria Abrantes Baracho Porto & Lorenzo Cantoni: “Cultural Sustainability: conceptual model and indicators for smart destinations”.


IFITT Thesis Excellence Award


IFITT ICT4D Scholarship

  • ENTER21 was organized as an online conference and everyone had an opportunity to join the conference from all around the world. Thus, ICT4D scholarship to cover the conference participation was not awarded this year.


Best IFITTtalk of the Year

  • IFITTtalks were affected by COVID-19 and the award is not given this year. However, IFITT appreciates all the work various chapters are doing in the field of eTourism.


IFITT 2021 Journal Paper of the Year Award


2021 JITT Article of the Year sponsored by IFITT


2021 Journal of Hospitality and Tourism Technology Paper of the Year Award


2021 eTourism Industry Contribution Award

  • Not given this year because of the uncertainty caused by COVID-19. The award will be dedicated to the whole industry for their adoption and use of technologies during these trying times.


Congratulations, well done and thank you for your contribution!

IFITT would like to thank Director of Research Excellence Juho Pesonen for overseeing the award identification processes. Last but not least, our sincere gratitude goes to the awards committee and colleagues in it, and, in particular, to Wolfgang Wöndl, Chulmo Koo, Jason Stienmetz (research track chairs),  Zheng Xiang (IFITT president), and Berta Ferrer-Rosell (the PhD workshop award) for organising and supporting the process.